50 years of the IAKS

IAKS celebrates its anniversary

Founded on 28 May 1965 as “Internationaler Arbeitskreis Sportstättenbau e.V.” (International Work Group for Sports Facility Construction), the IAKS celebrates its 50th anniversary in 2015. The perfect setting for the festivities was the opening of the 24th IAKS Congress on 27 Oct 2015 at the kick-off of the International Trade Fair FSB. The guests took a look into the history of sporting and recreational infrastructure, shared personal memories of meetings in Cologne and learnt about groundbreaking architectural ideas and significant innovations in the sports facility sector.

Video of the festive ceremony

Impressions of the ceremony (picture gallery)

Video "50 years of the IAKS"


13 personalities inducted to IAKS Hall of Fame

A total of 12 individuals and Koelnmesse as an organisation have been inducted into the IAKS Hall of Fame. All of them have rendered special services to sports facilities development or to the IAKS over the last 50 years.
Honours have gone to Prof. Frieder Roskam, Dr Willi Weyer, Gert Abelbeck, Roswitha Thibes, Ernst Hirt, Dr Pino Zoppini, Prof. Dr Carlos Vera Guardia, Siegfried Hoymann, Werner Krems, Peter Gattermann, Prof. Geraint John, Bill Stonor and Koelnmesse.

IAKS Hall of Fame - The winners and video of the festive ceremony

Impressions of the festive ceremony (picture gallery)


IAKS All-Time-Award pays tribute to outstanding sports facilities

The IAKS All-Time-Award commends outstanding sports facilities of the last few decades not only for their architectural and operative excellence, but also because of the special importance attached to sustainability and social factors.
The award has gone to the National Aquatics Center (Water Cube) in Beijing; National Stadium (Bird's Nest) in Beijing; Olympic Memorial Arena (M-Wave) in Nagano; Palau Sant Jordi in Barcelona; Olympic Stadium in Berlin; Holmenkollen Ski Jump in Oslo; Richmond Olympic Oval in Vancouver; and Oberhaching College of Physical Education near Munich.

IAKS All-Time Award - The winners and video of the festive ceremony

Impressions of the festive ceremony (picture gallery)